SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    jobs / careers in Chemical Engineering -- what can you tell me ??
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

jobs / careers in Chemical Engineering -- what can you tell me ?? Login/Join 
posted
relative is studying this at a major public university. doing very well up to this point -- has an internship lined up for this upcoming summer.

what kind of positions / career tracks are common for graduates with this degree?

i am not an engineer of any kind so all this is unknown to me. educate me if you can -- thanks --

-------------------------------------

Proverbs 27:17 - As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.

Posts: 8940 | Location: Florida | Registered: September 20, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If you come from a decent program and are at the top of your class opportunites are plentiful. A friend of mine's son had his pick of jobs from Dupont,BASF and the like.

Posts: 17478 | Location: Stuck at home | Registered: January 02, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Ignored facts
still exist
posted Hide Post
quote:
what kind of positions / career tracks are common for graduates with this degree?

Oil industry has historically been the main thing
but semiconductor and biotech companies too now.

My opinion is there will always be more jobs for good chemical engineers then there are good people to fill those jobs.

----------------------
Let's Go Brandon!

Posts: 11079 | Location: 45 miles from the Pacific Ocean | Registered: February 28, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
At Jacob's Well
Picture of jaaron11
posted Hide Post
My wife is a chemical engineer. She spent most of her career in the electric power industry, but any kind of large manufacturing operation will need ChemE's. Don't think of chemistry as much as process engineering.

It's a difficult degree, but the pay is towards the top for engineering.

J

Rak Chazak Amats