SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Email program for a senior?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Email program for a senior? Login/Join 
posted
I've been using Microsoft Outlook for many years, both at work and home so it works for me, but the spousal unit complains bitterly that it's too complicated for her. She uses her own laptop with the usual touch screen and has a single email address (a comcast one, if it makes any difference). I set it up with Outlook long ago, but it's not really working out for her.

All she does with it is read, write, delete & send emails along with opening links in some of them that come from her Bible study group and/or a university that she works with. Any recommendations for a dirt-simple email program that I can add to her machine that is easy to use and will cover the basic functions I've noted above? Computer-literate, she isn't! Appreciate any suggestions.

Posts: 1180 | Location: NE Indiana  | Registered: January 20, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
אַרְיֵה
Picture of V-Tail
posted Hide Post
Back when I was a Windows user, I liked ThunderBird. Pretty straightforward.

The guy who ran the business next door to me was really computer-ignorant. I set him up with ThunderBird, he had a short learning period, then all was well.

The price was right -- FREE.

הרחפת שלי מלאה בצלופחים

Posts: 30698 | Location: Central Florida, Orlando area | Registered: January 03, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
quarter MOA visionary
Picture of smschulz
posted Hide Post
What OS?

W10 has a built in one.
Also I have found that many "seniors" like the web enabled interface such as GMAIL, Hotmail etc.
YMMV

Posts: 22923 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: June 11, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
W07VH5
Picture of mark123
posted Hide Post
I'd say that outlook is less complicated than Thunderbird (the buttons are where you'd expect them). But free is a good price.