SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Another Ham radio thread
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Another Ham radio thread Login/Join 
Staring back
from the abyss
Picture of Gustofer
posted
I've been a tech level for about ten years. I originally did it because a couple of the guys I hunted with at the time had their's and used handhelds off repeaters to keep in touch vs. over the counter FRS radios.

I've wanted to upgrade to General for some time just for the extra frequencies, but have put it off for years. Something always came up that seemed more important. Well, I got a wild hair a few weeks ago and spent a few thousand on new radio equipment and antennas. I figured that would motivate me to move up. It did, and this morning I passed both the General and Extra level exams. I studied my butt off for the past few weeks and it paid off.

I'm not posting this to blow my own horn or anything, but rather to perhaps motivate anyone sitting on the fence to go ahead and do it. It's really not too difficult (especially the Tech level exam) and hell, if I can do it anyone can.

I'll give a big plug to the website https://www.hamradiolicenseexam.com/. It's an excellent study program that goes through all of the material as well as all of the possible questions, giving you explanations as to why your answer is right or wrong. Between that and reading through the ARRL books, I was really well prepared.

Give it a whirl and get on the air! You never know, it may come in handy one of these days.

Posts: 19975 | Location: Montana | Registered: November 01, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Dances With
Tornados
posted Hide Post
Awesome! Congratulations to you.

de N5USS

Posts: 11811 | Registered: October 26, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Political Cynic
Picture of nhtagmember
posted Hide Post
That’s great

Congrats.

KB1MEZ

Posts: 53080 | Location: Tucson Arizona | Registered: January 16, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post