SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I bought my dream boat (dream kayak) and it is BEAUTIFUL!!
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I bought my dream boat (dream kayak) and it is BEAUTIFUL!! Login/Join 
Official forum
SIG Pro
enthusiast
Picture of stickman428
posted
I came across this beauty on facebook’s Market place. I got to talking to it’s owner and worked out a price that was just too good to pass up. It is a Chesapeake Light Craft Shearwater 17 Hybrid. Hybrid meaning cedar stripped deck and stitch and glue hull (wood/fiberglass/epoxy) construction.

I’ve been building the same boat since 2010 and REALLY need to just finish it (mine is aboht 70-80% built).

On the water this thing is a hot rod. With only a 22inch beam (width) and 17ft length she slices through the water and cruises right along with little effort. It is not nearly as stable as my other wider kayaks but what it sacrifices in stability it makes up for in speed.

I cannot wait to get this baby in the Elizabeth river, currituck sound and explore lakes in NC.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The price of liberty and even of common humanity is eternal vigilance

Posts: 21121 | Location: San Dimas CA, the Old Dominion or the Tar Heel State…flip a coin  | Registered: April 16, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Gone but Together Again.
Dad & Uncle
Picture of h2oys
posted Hide Post
Beautiful Smile

Posts: 3735 | Location: St. Louis, MO | Registered: November 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
That is an amazing looking boat!

Posts: 3987 | Location: Peoria, AZ | Registered: November 07, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Old, Slow,
but Lucky!
Picture of dsmack
posted Hide Post
Correctomundo!!

That is gorgeous, and should be a TON of fun!

Posts: 3418 | Location: Spokane, WA | Registered: March 15, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post