SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Washington DC Travel Advice
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Washington DC Travel Advice Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
We found a good deal (under $100 a night) at a Hyatt on E Street SW. It is about a half mile from the Capitol building so no need to coordinate a train in and out of another state every day.

I’m a cop so will be bringing a gun in my checked baggage and will have credentials. I know someone else said their experience was bad, not sure how others have fared carrying in the metro.

May our caskets be made of hundred-year oak, and may we plant those trees tomorrow.

Posts: 814 | Location: Eastern Iowa | Registered: January 03, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Be wary driving in DC, theres plenty of traffic cameras, speed/redlight, everywhere with fines starting around $150 and going up from there. October would be the best month but August isn't as bad as some are making it seem. I worked in DC for 6 years and in my opinion the heat/humidity wasn't any worse than any other city in the North East. Theres no shortage of tourists in DC in August but like most places tourism dies off after Labor Day which is another reason to visit in October. Where do you plan to stay, in or outside of DC? I'd recommend staying outside of DC and taking the Metro Rail instead of driving your car. Expensive to park in DC and hard to find street parking and when you do you also have to contend with parking tickets and towing enforcement. Have fun and enjoy yourself DC has a lot to see and do.

Posts: 1627 | Location: USA | Registered: December 11, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Blackmore
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Revolution37:
We found a good deal (under $100 a night) at a Hyatt on E Street SW.