SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Looking for a FRS/GMRS/Marine radio
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Looking for a FRS/GMRS/Marine radio Login/Join 
posted
the other radio thread got me thinking.

I spend some time on the water and does anyone know of a good quality FRS/GMRS/Marine radio.

I know there are a couple that specialize in this:

Uniden Atlantis 290 Dual Band VHF/GMRS Handheld VHF - Black

Cobra MR HH450 CAMO.

I have no idea if they are any good.

I would rather have one set of radios than two.

Is it better to get something like the BaoFeng BF-F8HP (UV-5R 3rd Gen) 8-Watt Dual Band and just program in the marine frequencies?

I have no real experience except to press the talk button and talk to other boats.

I am thinking that this may be useful in the future if the cell service goes down.

Posts: 4743 | Registered: February 15, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Green grass and
high tides
Picture of old rugged cross
posted Hide Post
Is this for offshore or inshore?

"Practice like you want to play in the game"

Posts: 19199 | Registered: September 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Told cops where to go for over 29 years…
Picture of 911Boss
posted Hide Post
Well Uniden does pretty good for Marine radios, if you want to be “legal” I would say they are a good bet.

They ain’t cheap though at $100 or more each.

I just plugged in the upper and lower range of the Marine VHF channels into my Retevis RT87 and can confirm they will TX/RX in that range.

If they do, I imagine the Baofengs will as well.

Retevis RT87 Are IP67 waterproof/splash proof/dust proof which might be good for on a boat. The Baofeng BF-F8HP is not IP rated, but they do make a few models that are (UV-9, GT-3WP)

What part of "...Shall not be infringed" don't you understand???

Posts: 10945 | Location: Western WA state for just a few more years... | Registered: February 17, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of maladat
posted Hide Post