SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Anybody ever buy land and build a house?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anybody ever buy land and build a house? Login/Join 
Picture of 2BobTanner
posted Hide Post
Wifey and I did in this 1993. I visited the site ever 2 or 3 days and took pictures of every phase of construction, especially of the plumbing and the other in-wall constructions; might save on future repairs and/or remodeling operations. It took about 8 months from ground breaking to final punch list and move-in. Contractor gave us a timeline sheet of the various fixtures (lights, paint colors, wallpaper, carpet, etc.) and things we had to pick out from the vendors. Wifey made a binder of all things we selected; she's an "anal-yst" by profession--that's what she does.

I would agree with everything the others have said about their experiences. Watch the Tom Hanks "Money Pit" movie for an exaggeration of what goes wrong. Good Luck with your endeavors.

---------------------
LGBFJB

"Sometimes I wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it." — Mark Twain

“Democracy is the theory that the common people know what they want, and deserve to get it good and hard.” — H. L. Mencken

Posts: 2798 | Location: Falls of the Ohio River, Kain-tuk-e | Registered: January 13, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
As Extraordinary
as Everyone Else
Picture of smlsig
posted Hide Post
As a custom builder for the past 30 plus years I could write a thesis on the subject.

I agree with the comments that you should do your due dillegence and find a smaller builder who will be onsite daily. Also, ask how long he has been using his primary subs. Talk the his major building supplier and ask about his payment history etc.
If your state allows it get a Mechanic Lien Agent (MLA) who will verify that no liens have been placed on your property by unpaid subs/vendors prior to each draw.