SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I want to learn to speak Spanish, any advice?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I want to learn to speak Spanish, any advice? Login/Join 
Peace through
superior firepower
Picture of parabellum
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Blue Dog:
C
K?

Posts: 107558 | Registered: January 20, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by techguy:
What’s the easiest way for a dumbass to learn Spanish?

Move to central Florida.

A shot not taken is a shot missed

Posts: 411 | Registered: April 13, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Donate Blood,
Save a Life!
Picture of StarTraveler
posted Hide Post
Several people have mentioned Duolingo as a learning app with varying degrees of success. I’ve been using it for over nine years, initially on the computer and later on the app. By being active on their app in whatever form and by having long streaks, I’ve gained some perks that make it more effective (no hearts limitation, extra streak freezes that I’ve never used).

The Spanish course has grown and improved tremendously since I started, with new coursework added regularly, semi-humorous to outright silly stories have been added to help with reading, and listening and speaking exercises have been added to help with conversation. It’s been pretty effective with helping me learn to read Spanish (I’d give it a B), somewhat effective on writing (C), but the speech and conversation side is definitely lacking (D+/D). “Habla lentamente, por favor” (speak slowly, please) becomes as useful as “Mucho gusto” (translated nice to meet you).

In summary, Duolingo can help but immersion and conversation must be practiced with a fluent Spanish speaker for one to be really conversant in the language.

Good luck!

"Aut viam inveniam aut faciam (I will either find a way or make one)." -- Hannibal Barca