SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Career advice needed
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Career advice needed Login/Join 
Picture of billnchristy
posted
I have been working as a maintenance manager for a pretty large automotive supplier for a year and a half. The stress is getting to be too much, mostly due to conditions outside my control, the job would be great without certain aspects.

I am considering a complete change of direction but don't know where to begin and I fear I have degreed myself into the tough to hire zone.

I have over 20 years industrial maintenance experience on nuclear power, steel fabrication, and stamping plants.

I am an experienced trainer with a masters in teaching.

I am an expert at SAP PM.

I am a proficient buyer and handled consumables for 11 fab shops in the past.

I am open to moving but my wife has some advancement opportunities and my daughter really wants to go to the high school here so I feel like I should try to stay local.

I don't care about the money, I would rather be happy but employers seem to overlook folks that make good money and have degrees because they think you will bolt on them.

I'm a smart guy and I'm confident I could do anything well, I just don't know how to get that across as I never get even a phone interview with things outside my realm.

------------------------------------
My books on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/William-...id=1383531982&sr=8-1
email if you'd like auto'd copies.

Posts: 17916 | Location: Lawrenceville GA | Registered: April 15, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You can only worry about things that are within your control, you can't stress about things you cannot change...... take a few weeks vacation time decompress and go back to your current job fresh and see how it is after a few weeks......I say this because you sound pretty anchored where you live with your wife and kid......