SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Paint Sprayer Opinions?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Paint Sprayer Opinions? Login/Join 
posted
Hey all,

I'd like to get a paint spray for around the house stuff, I'll have a few projects coming up; painting the garage, some bedrooms and maybe using it to stain the fence. I've never used paint sprayers before, I've heard horror stories of taking hours to clean them up. I'm considering something like this:

Graco Magnum X5 Airless Paint Sprayer
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Gra...yer-262800/100634354

What do you all think? I don't mind spending the money if it'll be effective.

Thanks!

Posts: 1188 | Registered: January 04, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
quarter MOA visionary
Picture of smschulz
posted Hide Post
Units like that are great for larger painting projects.
Not just the clean up issue but the fact that they paint better with heavier paints like latex and "throw" lots of paint fast.
For smaller or more detailed projects such as furniture, stains or a high quality finish paint then look for a HVLP self contained unit.
Those units don't work that well for say painting a room walls/ceiling but would be great for trim.
Cleanup is only a minor issue as there is cleanup with anything.
YMMV

Posts: 22909 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: June 11, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of maladat
posted Hide Post
I'm sure you will get better responses from more knowledgeable members, but it is my understanding that Graco is one of the big names in spray guns and generally has a pretty good reputation.

Spray guns sure are nice when you have a lot to paint.

Posts: 6319 | Location: CA | Registered: January 24, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of P250UA5
posted Hide Post
Not sure about big projects (walls/fences), but I was grateful for my dad's HVLP when we painted a large dresser & a few other furniture projects.

Very little overspray.

The Enemy's gate is down.