SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Getting "Fixed" Soon (Vasectomy)
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Getting "Fixed" Soon (Vasectomy) Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted
So we now have 3 little children, our daughter is 3 months old and we are done having any more. I've been to a urology doc about getting a vasectomy and it's going to be scheduled soon.

Anyone else have this done? Hopefully it's not too painful? I was curious why they told me I'd need to stop taking my daily vitamins prior to the procedure? I take a Multi, C and Omega 3 and they told me I would have to stop that for 10 days prior to getting snipped?

Any recovery hints or advice from the SF membership?

Posts: 34642 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Writer by profession,
smartass by the
grace of God.

posted Hide Post
Mine was less painful than dental work.

Rest and ice for a day or two.

Don't be surprised if you have bleeding, but it should be minimal.

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Posts: 620 | Location: Beaverton, OR | Registered: April 19, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of P250UA5
posted Hide Post
I went 'under the knife' on Friday, 11/6.

10 minutes & done, once he got started.

Still a bit tender today, but walking around is a lot easier than it was over the weekend.

Definitely keep ibuprofen handy, unless you need something stronger.

My doc prescribed a narcotic, but I didn't pick it up.

I kept off my feet all weekend (scheduled mine for a Friday on purpose), and am working from home today.

Overall, it's been easier than I expected it to be. They had nitrous on offer, but I declined.
I'd advise having someone there to drive you home.