SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Anybody Need to Lose Weight-I Do
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anybody Need to Lose Weight-I Do Login/Join 
posted
I have a suggestion, that may help some. I am a retired physician, who six months ago, somehow managed to hit the big 80 mark. I had bypass surgery back in 2019 and about six months later began to experience mild to moderate shortness of breath. Since then, I have had every pulmonary and cardiac test known to man, trying to come up with a diagnosis. In exasperation, my doctor finally suggested it might have to do with "deconditioning". That's something they have come up with, instead of saying you're too fat.

I am 5'10, down from 5'11.5" a few years back for whatever reason, I also notice more fatigue with walking, as well as back, hip and knee pain. When I have to accompany my wife shopping, I know where every "husband's chair or bench" is located in every store. It finally occurred to me that maybe 236 lbs. is a bit much and maybe some or all symptoms might improve with weight loss.
So I joined Weight Watchers. Their format has changed and now what they do is mainly provide you with online diets and suggestions. Meetings are rare. I did find one scheduled at the convenient time of 7:30 AM on a Saturday morning. Everyone was very nice but I noticed everyone there was overweight. I was hoping for a few skinny folks to get up and give testimonials but that didn't happen. A shooting buddy lost weight on Nutrisystem but I'm a meat and potatoes kind of guy and wasn't sure I would eat half of what they sent me. I see all the ads on TV for this program and that program, usually for big bucks with dubious results.