SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Holy cow, $1200 for a single electric plug install
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Holy cow, $1200 for a single electric plug install Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted Hide Post
I finally figured it out!

He’s using 12/2 SG Romex for the run

SG = Solid Gold

Big Grin

Posts: 33833 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by RogueJSK:
quote:
Originally posted by bendable:
She got 7 estimates at a cost of $175.00.

I'm no expert, but I've been around or directly involved in a decent amount of the usual homeowner contracting for repairs/remodels, including stuff like electrical, plumbing,
painting, landscaping, tiling, roofing, flooring, custom cabinets, etc.

But I've never dealt with or even heard of a contractor who would require payment for an estimate, and I suspect most clients these days would not be willing to fork over any money for just an estimate.

Perhaps some unscrupulous contractors decided they could fleece little old Mary out of a bit of extra cash by insisting she pay for estimates?

I have friends in Wisconsin that routinely have to pay for a tradesman quote. In Texas it's unheard of.

-------------------
"Oh bother", said Pooh, as he chambered his last round.

Posts: 1107 | Location: North Texas | Registered: November 04, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Ammoholic
Picture of Skins2881
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by PowerSurge:
I was just about to say that price sounds like a Mr. Sparky price. They’ve been ripping people off for years. They wanted to charge a customer of mine $7500 for a panel changeout about 10 years ago. I did it for a fraction of that.