SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Cyberattack idles 1,000s of Car Dealers Today
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cyberattack idles 1,000s of Car Dealers Today Login/Join 
Picture of mikeyspizza
posted
Many won't know this unless they went to a car dealership today.

As a part-time contractor I facilitate vehicle surrenders (car buy-backs) when a manufacturer agrees to buy back a car under the lemon law or out of their good nature.

Today I went to a Nissan dealer and the few people still there in service and the showroom were sitting around on their phones, with no customers anywhere, including the service waiting area. Reason, the technology platform that handles pretty much all the dealerhip operations was hacked and shut down. It's reportedly back up. It didn't affect the buyback.

CDK Global cyberattack impacts thousands of US car dealerships

Posts: 4061 | Location: North Carolina | Registered: August 16, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
No, not like
Bill Clinton
Picture of BigSwede
posted Hide Post
Yep, day two of twiddling my thumbs

Definitely not back up. They say the number is 15,000 dealers

Posts: 5560 | Location: GA | Registered: September 23, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
safe & sound
Picture of a1abdj
posted Hide Post
We are so smart that we are now too dumb to do anything without a computer.

We will totally collapse once somebody figures out how to shut a good portion of them down all at the same time.

www.zykansafe.com

Posts: 15861 | Location: St. Charles, MO, USA | Registered: September 22, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fighting the good fight
Picture of RogueJSK
posted Hide Post
And this is just an inconvenient financial hardship.

When they hit hospital systems, as they have recently, it creates real danger.

As it will when they hit things like electric grids, telephone systems, emergency dispatch centers, etc.