SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Seeking advice on a handgun iron sight problem
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Seeking advice on a handgun iron sight problem Login/Join 
Casuistic Thinker and Daoist
Picture of 9mmepiphany
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by trapper189:
Is a combat sight picture not a thing anymore? That’s what I’ve been doing for a little over 15 years with the three dot sights on my defensive handguns. I’m not having problems putting rounds on steel at 25 yards, even the little square head at the top of the plate.

It was a thing the factories came up with so they wouldn't have to regulate the sights. Once they discovered that shooters were satisfied with only being able to place shots in an area defined by the front dot, they were more than happy to offer this setup and explanation. It is hard to place shots accurately, much less zero your sights, when your whole aiming area is covered by your front sights

"Rounds on steel at 25 yards" is a noteworthy goal, but what was the size of your group on the steel. If you accept the long acknowledged standard of acceptable accuracy for a combat pistol at 50 yards as being 4", your shots at 25 yards should be in a 2" group. Even standing freestyle, you should be able to keep your shots inside 6" at 50 yards

No, Daoism isn't a religion

Posts: 14184 | Location: northern california | Registered: February 07, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of wrightd
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by KevH:
I despise fat front sights.

Run a Dawson .100 wide fiber optic.

https://dawsonprecision.com/si...by-dawson-precision/

It's the solution you're looking for.