Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Amtrak Trains Login/Join 
Picture of uvahawk
posted Hide Post
There is certainly a bit of nostalgia around passenger trains. I grew up in Delaware where both the B & O and the Pennsylvania lines served parts of the State with passenger service. My parents took us children to places like WDC and NYC on the train. The B & O cars were always much nicer than the Pennsylvania. Over the years both faded with the B & O fading away first. When I went to school in Virginia during the latter half of the 1960s two lines serviced the area: the Southern and the C & O out of WDC. Both railroads had good service and maintained their equipment. Select Southern trains had mail cars which actually picked up mail pouches along the way and sorted the mail. Probably a subsidy for the railroad. But as the 1960s ended, the C & O service ended leaving only the Southern by the time I graduated and went on active duty.

I have ridden passengers in Europe as well and agree with the comments posted earlier, especially the observation that Europe is much smaller and denser than the United States so rail travel makes sense in many areas. What makes sense for Europe and Europeans may not work as well in the US.

Pushing passenger rail in the US seems part of the broader "green" agenda which at its extremes wants to see all of us living in small apartments and walking or biking to work.

Posts: 162 | Location: Low Country, South Carolina | Registered: November 28, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Buy that Classic SIG in All Stainless,
No rail wear will be painless.
Picture of cee_Kamp
posted Hide Post
Around a decade ago, we rode the auto train from Virginia to Florida. It was OK.
We were going to the space coast to see one of the final space shuttle launches.
But what made me decide to NEVER do it again was some stupid passenger fuckup.
Some ignorant stupid bastard forgot their very important medication, and they left it in their automobile.