SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Another ham radio thread... but with a twist. **Updated 12/19**
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Another ham radio thread... but with a twist. **Updated 12/19** Login/Join 
Live for today.
Tomorrow will
cost more
Picture of motor59
posted
If you're like me, the thought of sitting down and going through the the process of getting your ham license is something that keeps moving to the furthest rear burner of the stove.

I've been kicking this can down the road for better than 40 years. It was something that I'd get to someday, but 'some day' had no particular drive or end date. I knew I'd get around to it sooner or later, but nothing was pushing me to get it done.

Until now.

If you're also sitting on the fence, I invite you to visit this site: Project M.O.R.E.

While the stated goal of the project is to reduce both gender and age imbalances in Amateur Radio, through education and hands-on activities, it's currently open to all. It's free, and if you finish the course, you'll not only have your test fee paid for by the project - you'll also receive a radio upon successfully passing the Technician exam.

If you are involved with a youth organization looking for something different to present as an activity - you are who they're looking for (actually, your kids are). But right now, anyone can apply. I'm making a presentation to a local DeMoLay chapter in December to get a class together for January.

Disclaimer: I'm not involved with the administration of this project. I'm a member of the pilot class, which is about halfway through the course.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: motor59,

suaviter in modo, fortiter in re

Posts: 3142 | Location: Exit 7 NJ | Registered: March 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Banned for
showing his ass
posted Hide Post
I too have done the same kicking down the road. Thanks for the info.