SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Tesla burns in crash, killing driver and 'keeps catching fire' at tow yard
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tesla burns in crash, killing driver and 'keeps catching fire' at tow yard Login/Join 
Mired in the
Fog of Lucidity
posted
Looks like another potential bit of troubles for Tesla.

https://www.sun-sentinel.com/l...-20190225-story.html

Posts: 4850 | Registered: February 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peace through
superior firepower
Picture of parabellum
posted Hide Post
Keeps catching fire? The car, or the driver?

Seems to me they should have taken him to the hospital, but I'm no mechanic.

Posts: 107498 | Registered: January 20, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Ignored facts
still exist
posted Hide Post
If you are a first responder or a good Samaritan, be careful of these things. Electrical and chemical hazard.

And yes, I know gasoline has its risks too.

----------------------
Let's Go Brandon!

Posts: 10905 | Location: 45 miles from the Pacific Ocean | Registered: February 28, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
This was funny- Just like a gas tank.

quote:
There is a “post-crash potential” of fire if a battery cell is punctured, “just like there would be post-crash with a gas tank,” industry analyst Karl Brauer told the South Florida Sun Sentinel last year.

quote:
The Tesla was eventually towed to A Superior Towing on Southwest 66th Terrace in Davie where fire crews were called out at least three times during the overnight hours.

The butcher with the sharpest knife has the warmest heart.

Posts: 13397 | Location: Bottom of Lake Washington | Registered: March 06, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of sleepla8er
posted Hide Post

Maybe fire departments should start having Teslas towed to their station's parking lot or to an airport's CFR burn pit for a few days after accidents.
Roll Eyes