SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Predictive policing
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Predictive policing Login/Join 
I Wanna Missile
Picture of tanksoldier
posted Hide Post
quote:
I could think of other entertaining programs that skirt the edge of entrapment.

Entrapment is when the police put the thought of committing a crime in your head where it didn't exist before: "Hey, lets go rob a bank. It will be fun."

Predictive policing is not entrapment. The crimes predicted will occur whether the police become involved or not.

Bait cars, and bikes and so on are not entrapment either. Seeing an unlocked bicycle doesn't convince an honest person to go steal it.

"I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight."
GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Posts: 21542 | Location: Eastern plains of Colorado | Registered: January 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Sorry I was being sarcastic and did not suggest that predictive policing was entrapment. I think creating situations in which criminals would break the law is perfectly fine. It further provides me with entertainment in addition to getting the bad guys off the street.

Posts: 17481 | Location: Stuck at home | Registered: January 02, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by chongosuerte:
Here's an idea...when the cops lock someone up for a crime, prosecute them and keep them in jail.

The shitheads that do really bad stuff have almost ALWAYS already been arrested for major offenses, and were let off. Usually completely let off. And if the DA manages to prosecute, they accept a plea for a few months or only probation.

It is, truly, all just a joke. Don't try to pretend otherwise. Rarely, one will get real time the first time, for killing an innocent victim that made real headlines.