SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Fire extinguisher - is this a problem?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fire extinguisher - is this a problem? Login/Join 
Serenity now!
Picture of 4x5
posted
A few weeks ago, my daughter's car caught on fire, so we bought a small Kidde Auto/Marina fire extinguisher for her. I'm not experienced with fire extinguishers, but this one doesn't seem right to me. The pin is under no tension at all, and if you tip the extinguisher upside down, the pin simply falls out. To me, it should be somewhat hard to remove. If she puts this in her car, the pin will probably fall out, and you can imagine the rest.

Is this how it's supposed to work? Or is this a defective unit?

Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice - pull down your pants and slide on the ice.
ʘ ͜ʖ ʘ

Posts: 4930 | Location: Highland, UT | Registered: September 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Little ray
of sunshine
Picture of jhe888
posted Hide Post
The little ones I have seen have a plastic pin with a sort of expanded, flared head that can be pushed into place, but which cannot be withdrawn without breaking the pin, which is what is intended. You break the pin to remove it.

It does not seem that the pin should be so easy to remove.

The fish is mute, expressionless. The fish doesn't think because the fish knows everything.

Posts: 53122 | Location: Texas | Registered: February 10, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Mikus36
posted Hide Post
The pin should have a "keeper" usually a a plastic tab or finely beaded plastic string that breaks away. You don't want it to bump something and have it go off inside the vehicle.

"It's a Bill of Rights - Not a Bill of Needs"
The World is a combustible Place

Posts: 353 | Location: Washington | Registered: April 18, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Mikus36
posted Hide Post
Something like this - https://www.grainger.com/produ...er-Tamper-Seal-3YWF1