SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    What Do I Do For A Living? I Make Your Escape Possible
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What Do I Do For A Living? I Make Your Escape Possible Login/Join 
Raptorman
Picture of Mars_Attacks
posted
June 29, 1989 two years out of college, I worked at Franklins Printing in the Peachtree 25th building in Atlanta. There wasn't much out there for an inexperienced Art School graduate but to either run a printing press or work fast food.

I had been there a year or so when the lights went out and there was a bang that shook the whole building.

I had a habit of going up to the 6th floor to where the vending machine was in the IRS break room to get my Twix and a Coke and mostly to chat up the young women there. I was 24 so yeah, I was really interested in them.

The alarm bell only hit for half a second and nobody had any idea there was a tragedy taking place. There was a fire. The WHOLE 6th FLOOR was on fire.

The corridors were dark, the emergency lighting was dark, the alarms didn't work. The batteries were long dead from lack of maintenance.

The smoke was thick as tar. The wires were burning through the walls and there was a bright blue arc welder light and sound coming from a service door. I literally crawled over bodies feeling my way to the fire escape.

The stairwells were dark. Escape was difficult at best with the choking black smoke and the midnight in a tea kettle darkness. I had no idea what was going on except to get out.

I got to the ground floor with a few other people and ran out to the parking lot straight over to the fire alarm, which was on a pole at the corner of the property. Another escapee ran and pulled the other one at the other corner.

No sooner did he pull the switch, we heard the first fire truck.