SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Question for weightlifters, medical types, and potentially psychologists…
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question for weightlifters, medical types, and potentially psychologists… Login/Join 
Team Apathy
posted
I’ve been lifting for a several years now and my main goal in lifting is just to support overall health and weight loss. I’m not trying to be the strongest guy out there or lift some huge numbers, but I do want to consistently increase my numbers to ensure I’m “moving forward”.

Initially my deadlift numbers increased very quickly until
I got to about 4 plates each side. Then it was slower but steady progress to my current point with a 1 RM, on a great day, of 520.

It bothered me for a long time that my squat wasn’t even in the same ballpark. I had a good year of virtually no squatting due to chronic knee issues. However, about a year ago those knee issues came under control and know I only have occasional flare ups. In the past year or so I’ve manage to close the gap substantially and my last run up to heavy weights had me stopping at 415. And that felt heavy when I lifted it off the rack, but I got a solid rep with good depth.

But it spurred me thinking… if felt so heavy upon first shouldering the weight. I wondered if that was mostly pysiological or perhaps a mental thing. I wondered if I spent some time every week unracking VERY heavy weight, as compared to my current numbers, it would help prepare me to do full lifts at increasing weights. For instance, if I loaded up a bar to 550 and just shouldered that and assumed a good starting position then re-racked it 5 times at the end of a session would that act alone help me lift heavier later?

It seems to me there may be two potential benefits…

1) when I go for 425 later on, it won’t FEEL so heavy at the outset of an attempt because I’ve been un-racking far more than that on a regular basis. I see this as a potential psychological advantage.

And