SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I live in MO / Daughter lives in VA / Can I Gift a Handgun?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I live in MO / Daughter lives in VA / Can I Gift a Handgun? Login/Join 
Gone but Together Again.
Dad & Uncle
Picture of h2oys
posted
Can I just give her a handgun or are there any special rules?

Does Virginia require any type of a license to own handgun?

If it matters, she lives in Fairfax, VA.

Posts: 3725 | Location: St. Louis, MO | Registered: November 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I am not a lawyer but would think if you legally purchase the firearm at your LGS or one in Virginia online and have it shipped to a FFL in Virginia local to her. She can then pay the FFL, background, etc. and legally pick it up, etc. I am sure someone else with more knowledge than me will chime in. God Bless Smile

"Always legally conceal carry. At the right place and time, one person can make a positive difference."

Posts: 3069 | Location: Sector 001 | Registered: October 30, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Gone but Together Again.
Dad & Uncle
Picture of h2oys
posted Hide Post
^^^Sorry, I already own it and just want to give it to her.

Posts: 3725 | Location: St. Louis, MO | Registered: November 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Blackmore
posted Hide Post
Regardless of whether you already own it or not, it has to be transferred through a VA FFL. Someone from NOVA can chime in with any special restrictions for Fairfax

Truth: The New Hate Speech

Posts: 3450 | Location: W. Central NH | Registered: October 05, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Blackmore:
Regardless of whether you already own it or not, it has to be transferred through a VA FFL. Someone from NOVA can chime in with any special restrictions for Fairfax