SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I live in MO / Daughter lives in VA / Can I Gift a Handgun?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I live in MO / Daughter lives in VA / Can I Gift a Handgun? Login/Join 
Savor the limelight
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ridewv:
It says "Generally....." what are the exceptions?

1. You don’t have to be residents of the same state, but you do have to reside in the same state. Example: my uncle is a resident of Michigan: he votes there, pays income tax there, MI driver’s license, car are registered in MI, etc. He owns a condo in Florida and spends several months there in the winter. When he is here in Florida, we can give each other all the firearms we want without an FFL. I am a Florida resident and he resides i Florida in the winter even though he is still a MI resident.

2. Bequests pursuant to a will or inheritance do not have to go through an FFL. For example: if my dad, a Florida resident, passes away and in his will leaves a firearm to my brother, a Tennessee resident, then no FFL is needed.

States have their own rules.

Posts: 10950 | Location: SWFL | Registered: October 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
delicately calloused
Picture of darthfuster
posted Hide Post
I read the Virginia law relative to that just last week. Every gun transfer has to be done with a background check.

You’re a lying dog-faced pony soldier

Posts: 29703 | Location: Highland, Ut. | Registered: May 07, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Imagination and focus
become reality
posted Hide Post