SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    If a person fertilizes lawns are they providing lawn care?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

If a person fertilizes lawns are they providing lawn care? Login/Join 
W07VH5
Picture of mark123
posted
Here’s my weekly post of confusion.

A while back I graduated the business to lawn fertilization and quit taking mowing jobs. I’m only accepting lawn fertilizing work (including applying fertilizer, weed control, insect preventative and curative, lime application, and seeding). I’ll also take aeration if the schedule permits. All those things are applied to lawns for the care of said lawn. In general, I care for people’s lawns.

I get calls for mowing quite often. The ones I get at this time of year are for lawns that have been neglected, are 6’ high and need mowed “RIGHT NOW!” I usually stop them before they make such demands and explain that I am a fertilizing business and don’t take mowing jobs.

Without fail, they begin arguing with me, “well the internet says you do lawn care”. I reply “that’s correct.” Then they argued with me that lawn care is mowing.

Do I need to change the name of my business? Maybe something like “no mow services”.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: mark123,

Posts: 45385 | Location: Pennsyltucky | Registered: December 05, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I am a leaf
on the wind...
posted Hide Post
Yes. To the layman, ie me, "lawn Care" encompasses everything to do with my lawn. I would add in the no mowing clause.

Posts: 2122 | Location: Elizabeth, CO | Registered: August 16, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Min-Chin-Chu-Ru... Speed with Glare
posted Hide Post
To me, a business citing "lawn care" does what you do. A "landscaping" or "landscaper" business does what you do, plus mowing, shrub pruning, etc.

Posts: 1266 | Location: MA | Registered: December 24, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Perception
posted Hide Post