SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Home networking question
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Home networking question Login/Join 
Serenity now!
Picture of 4x5
posted
We moved into a new home about a month ago. The previous owner had the house all wired for ethernet and cable, but I don't know much about this stuff. Can someone take a look at what I have, and maybe explain what it is and how I would get a network signal to all of the ethernet ports in my house? I'm a software engineer, so I'm not a complete idiot about this stuff, but it's never really been my thing.

We have wifi, but it's a big house, and the signal isn't that great. If we could get all our ethernet ports wired up, that would solve a lot of problems.

Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice - pull down your pants and slide on the ice.
ʘ ͜ʖ ʘ

Posts: 4931 | Location: Highland, UT | Registered: September 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Happily Retired
Picture of Bassamatic
posted Hide Post
You may not need to hard wire all your components. Our modem has built in wify and I have no problem picking it up 50 feet away through three walls. You won't know until you try.

.....never marry a woman who is mean to your waitress.

Posts: 5055 | Location: Lake of the Ozarks, MO. | Registered: September 05, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Delusions of Adequacy
Picture of zoom6zoom
posted Hide Post
Connect from your router or switch ethernet ports to the ports you see on the board. They should be numbered to match the ports in each room.

I have my own style of humor. I call it Snarkasm.

Posts: 17944 | Location: Virginia | Registered: June 02, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Live long
and prosper
Picture of 0-0
posted Hide Post
I am missing a switch and a modem/router in this pic.

0-0

"OP is a troll" - Flashlightboy, 12/18/20

Posts: 12148 | Location: BsAs, Argentina | Registered: February 14, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
A Grateful American