Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Autographs Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Dad was a stagehand and used to get me backstage for stuff when I was a kid. He explained that he was there to work and I was there as a lucky guest and that the performers were not to be bothered. There would be no autographs or pictures unless they were offered by the performer. I worked as a stagehand later and had to explain to the rules to a few new guys.

I've always liked Bill Russell's take and have had a few nice conversations with famous folks:

“In the middle of my playing career, I decided to stop signing autographs. In part, my feelings about autographs is based upon my belief that I’d rather meet someone who approaches me respectfully, talk to them for a minute and look them in the eye, rather than participate in the momentary ritual of signing something, never looking at the person I’m signing something for, never getting to know them, and then moving on.”

Posts: 4322 | Location: Peoples Republic of Berkeley | Registered: June 12, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hop head
Picture of lyman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Browndrake:
Count me in as another guy who couldn't care less about autographs these days. I didn't always feel that way but I find that as I get older it just becomes more crap to find a home for. I also think that as I've gotten older famous people just don't hold any mystique for me. They're just people, same as me, working their way through life. I cannot think of any autograph I would wait in line for or seek to obtain.