SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    When did TV remotes stop having numbers on them?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

When did TV remotes stop having numbers on them? Login/Join 
Picture of vthoky
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by stoic-one:
My 3 year old Samsung TV remote doesn't have numbers, it has a separate button you push (123), which brings up a numeric ribbon on the screen you enter numbers by scrolling and hitting enter...

I would absolutely HATE that. When I want to watch channel 7, I press one button on my remote... the one marked "7." No stinking way do I want to add complexity and have to light up a ribbon, then scroll across it, then press enter. Why a half-dozen button presses, when one does the job? I'm an engineer and I love neat technology, but dang! That's just goofy!

Man... I hope my existing TVs never die.

God bless America.

Posts: 13521 | Location: The mountainous part of Hokie Nation! | Registered: July 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Don't Panic
Picture of joel9507
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by PHPaul:
quote:
Originally posted by vthoky:
quote:
Originally posted by joel9507:
I run them mainly with my iPad via an app.

[This is not a dig at you, Joel.]

Good grief, we keep adding complexity to simple tasks! Mad

In this instance, here's what I see:
Instead of picking up a remote and pressing the appropriate button, I have to locate my tablet, wake it up (hopefully it's charged), enter the passcode, launch the app, and THEN press the appropriate buttons.

[Al Bundy] Great Caesar's ghost!! [/Al Bundy]

That was my first thought as well. What, exactly, is gained by adding another layer of technology?

I can see there are at least two folks who have never tried to type in movie names into Netflix/Amazon search boxes using scroll arrows and enter buttons on remotes. Who knew? Wink