SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Does anyone use Proton Mail or another pay-for email service ?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Does anyone use Proton Mail or another pay-for email service ? Login/Join 
Picture of wrightd
posted
My ISP is dropping email service, so I have to bail and start over. What a royal pita since I use my email address as a username for various logins.

I won't use any free email, since YOU are the product for sale when using those resources.

My use would be personal email, not business or marketing, and I don't have the desire or skill to run my own secure email server, so I need a secure pay for provider.

Lover of the US Constitution
Wile E. Coyote School of DIY Disaster

Posts: 8690 | Location: Nowhere the constitution is not honored | Registered: February 01, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of lkdr1989
posted Hide Post
I've been using the paid-version of Proton for a couple of years and been pretty happy.

They have a $3.33/month promo going on right now.

There are a several ways to access your mail:
1. login into their site (web)
2. Use Outlook, Thunderbird or Apple Mail among some of the email clients you can use...you do have to have Proton's email bridge running.
3. Use their smartphone app

I use all three methods daily and haven't really ran into any issues.

Just recently, I canceled my Microsoft Office-based email connected to one of my domains because the email provider was charging me $6.99/month, so after canceling, I pointed my Proton account to my domain and now send/receive using my domain through Proton; this service is included in my subscription.

...let him who has no sword sell his robe and buy one. Luke 22:35-36 NAV

"Behold, I send you out as sheep in the midst of wolves; so be shrewd as serpents and innocent as doves." Matthew 10:16 NASV

Posts: 4336 | Location: Valley, Oregon | Registered: June 03, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peripheral Visionary