SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Anyone using a antique wood fired stove to cook on outdoors?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone using a antique wood fired stove to cook on outdoors? Login/Join 
Picture of lastmanstanding
posted
I have a chance to pick up a very ornate wood fired kitchen stove for almost nothing. It’s from the early 1900’s and I would call it a survivor. All the ornate porcelain pieces on it are still in beautiful condition. I’m thinking about incorporating into a outdoor kitchen I’ve been planning at our lake property. I’ve been running wood fired smokers for many years so my fire management skills for cooking fires are solid.

Not sure how the stove is going to take to being outdoors all year in northern Minnesota. The outdoor kitchen is sheltered but not entirely enclosed. So it’s going to sit snow covered all winter and will go through cycles of wet/dry with morning condensation and afternoon sun. It might be a shame to expose such a nice stove to the elements and have it deteriorate in a couple years. But I don’t want to get something that looks junky either. Part of me says to can the whole idea and just do a built in flat top griddle as was my original plan. My wood fired smoker already does a lot of kitchen duty.

I just can’t shake loose of the idea though. Any input from anyone using one would be welcomed.

"Fixed fortifications are monuments to mans stupidity" - George S. Patton

Posts: 8537 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: June 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of SPWAMike0317
posted Hide Post
Can you incorporate a a combined backsplash/cover in the design? When using the stove it would be up, when not in use it hinges down to protect the stove from the elements. If you use some type of metal or ceramic you could drop the cover while the stove is hot.