New
Find
Notify
Tools

Aikidō Login/Join 
Lost
Picture of kkina
posted
I signed up as a beginning Aikidō student tonight. I've been wanting to study for some time, and I'm not getting any younger. Not easy trading my karate black belt for a white one, but that's how it goes.

As some of you may remember, I studied Filipino Kali (escrima) for about a year, but had to drop out last summer as my chronic fatigue began flaring up again. Been resting and undergoing new therapies, and believe I can once again try training again.

Tonight's introductory class went very well. I even got a chance to get thrown by the Sensei in front of the class. Not bad getting my arse kicked very first class!

I hope this continues to go well.

ACCU-STRUT FOR MINI-14
"First, Eyes."

Posts: 16260 | Location: SF Bay Area | Registered: December 11, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Quiet Man
posted Hide Post
I studied Aikido for a couple years in college. I enjoyed it greatly and it’s served me well in my career. The more basic throws and joint locks are perfectly usable for practical application and the learning to fall properly and get back up quickly has saved me from serious injury on more than one occasion. The flashy advanced stuff probably isn’t going into your repertoire for street use unless you live in that dojo, but it teaches you movement, balance, and timing regardless. It’s a harder form to pick up than Karate, but it’s deeply satisfying the first time you manage to execute a perfect iremenage on the instructor.

My last teacher had an amazing technique. You’d go in for a grab and find yourself on the mat with no clear idea how you got there. Didn’t even hurt. He was all technique and leverage. No muscle at all.

Posts: 2590 | Registered: November 13, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Step by step walk the thousand mile road
Picture of Sig2340
posted Hide Post
Studying aikido helped save my life when I drove my motorcycle into a stopped car at 60mph.