SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Need bicycle recommendations
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need bicycle recommendations Login/Join 
If you see me running
try to keep up
Picture of mrvmax
posted
I’ve been riding a Specialized Hard Rock for several years and I’d like to replace it. For a cheap bike it’s done well but my riding is only on the road through my neighborhood (I have a 10 mile loop I do solely to get exercise since I can no longer jog). I can ride that at 13-14 mph and it’s difficult enough to get my heart rate where I need it for a decent workout. I like an upright seating position so I have a bar riser installed on it (leaning over like on road bikes hurts my back).
Anyway, what bikes do you recommend that are $1000 and under? My local shop has a Cannondale Trail 6 I’m looking at but I’m looking for the most bang for my buck but I have no knowledge of components (I.e. which derailleur is best or worst).

Posts: 4222 | Location: Friendswood Texas | Registered: August 24, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
There was a time when some bikes were manufactured in the USA however now most if not all are now made in Taiwan or China and are own by the same company. I would look at Trek FX line which used to be their fitness line. Giant also has some nice bikes. FYI if you want to save some money, the quality and components of the Big Box store bikes like Mongoose, Iron Horse, Schwinn, etc found in Walmart and Target, etc now are comparable to the high end bikes of about 5 to 10 years ago. I would go to several stores and try out several you like and are in your budget and most of all see the after sale service if you are not proficient with your own maintenance. Enjoy and God Bless !!! Smile

"Always legally conceal carry. At the right place and time, one person can make a positive difference."

Posts: 3091 | Location: Sector 001 | Registered: October 30, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post