SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Cochlear Implants input needed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cochlear Implants input needed Login/Join 
Barbarian at the Gate
Picture of Belwolf
posted
I have Meniere's disease, tinnitus in both ears, hearing has been bad for years but my left ear was still partially "good" for most of the last 15 years. I will be 57 in April.

Now that has deteriorated where both left/ right are in the 70-77db range. Combined speech recognition 30%, right alone 30%, left 65%.

Have tried hearing aids bilateral and single (left ear) and they do not help, they just increase distortion.

I am in a bind in that I am a middle school teacher and the lack of being able to hear has massively impacted my effectiveness. Can't go for disability since the hearing loss does not yet meet the threshold for SSDI. VA is no help since the Meniere's was a result of viral infection after I got out (actually right after I got out by a month).

Med folks are screening for CI. My research indicates that in itself requires time to adjust requiring therapy that averages a year or so.

Anyone have CI's?

Your input would help.

Pros/cons, experiences, etc.

My job seems ok till the end of the school year but I wonder if admin will still nominate to retain. Of course I know it would be best to stop teaching, it's not fair to the students, but can't see myself entering the job market as a late middle age partially deaf guy.

“Posterity! You will never know how much it cost the present Generation to preserve your Freedom! I hope you will make good use of it. If you do not, I shall repent in Heaven, that I ever took half the Pains to preserve it.”
― John Adams

"Fire can be our friend; whether it's toasting marshmallows, or raining down on Charlie."
- Principal Skinner.

Posts: 4362 | Location: Thonotosassa, FL | Registered: February 02, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post