SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Drilling Holes In Concrete?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Drilling Holes In Concrete? Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
In a facilities operation, we rented Hilti equipment and fasteners frequently. It worker and did the job well.

Posts: 702 | Location: Gatesville, TX | Registered: January 07, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Savor the limelight
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by jhe888:
quote:
Originally posted by Skins2881:
Why must you drill holes? Can't you just shoot them in with a ramset? No conventional building method I can think of uses drilling as a method of attaching framing. Usually a bottom plate is nailed to floor and underside of floor joists and then 2x4 or 2x3 framing is used between the two.

I am the furthest thing from an expert, but I would have thought this was the proper method.

I'm not an expert either, but nailing bottom plates to concrete doesn't meet hurricane code where as threaded fasteners do. Also, studs are strapped to the bottom and top plates with metal straps and lots of nails; joists, rafters, trusses, etc. are also strapped.

Posts: 11610 | Location: SWFL | Registered: October 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici
Picture of ChuckFinley
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mrvmax:
Rent a Hilti and be done with it. The cheap hammer drills will not work well, Hilti and others are made for this and will drill through the concrete like it’s butter.

This was my experience.

"Of all tyrannies, a tyranny exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It may be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end, for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." -- C.S. Lewis