SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Need Some Advice On Retirement
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need Some Advice On Retirement Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
I am not a lawyer but I recently did the numbers for myself.

In your case if you were born in 1955 your full retirement age is 66 and 2 months. You can start your Social Security retirement benefits as early as age 62, but the benefit amount you receive will be less than your full retirement benefit amount. Not recommended.

If you wait until you are 70 to claim SS the break even is living to 84. If you live longer you live you make considerably more money vs taking the benefits early.

If you wait until you are 67, you'll get 108 percent of the monthly benefit because you delayed getting benefits for 12 months.

You get an increased benefit of 8% per year you delay collecting your benefits.

If you wait until 70, you'll get 132 percent of the monthly benefit because you delayed getting benefits for 48 months. After 70 they stop adding to your benefits.

I plan to wait until I am 68 or 70 to collect my SS benefit.

It is a lifestyle choice. I am not ready to retire. Plus the guarantee of 8% return is not a bad thing either.

Posts: 4743 | Registered: February 15, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Page late and a dollar short
posted Hide Post
Bytes,

Very similar situation between you and I in all the scenarios you name. I retired seven months early at 65, the last six months I literally hated to go to work. I used to say it was time when a person hated to go to work, I now add to that. I hated to drive home after work because I knew in "X" hours I would be driving to work again down the same roads. Pretty sad.

I took SS, the penalty was under fifty bucks a month, well worth it to me. My wife turned 62 that same year, her birthday was the same month that I "hung it up"., we both received our first checks the same month.