SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Mice!!!!!!!
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mice!!!!!!! Login/Join 
posted
How do I hate you, let me count the ways....$550.00 to be exact. I have a nice TroyBuilt riding mower, it's a Bronko with a 17 horse Kohler engine. I bought it used several years ago, but in great condition, I've kept up with the maintenance. So last week it doesn't want to start. It turns over, but won't catch. Some popping, and smoke. Checked the usual, spark, fuel, air ect, no go. Take it to a local repair shop owned by a fireman where I worked as a policeman. Turns out some wiring was chewed up by mice. He found a nest under the engine where a nest was made also, caused the engine to run hot also. Turns out many wiring harnesses for cars and tractors from China use a soy or rice ingredient in their insulation. The mice love this. Had the harness repaired, a full service and new battery. Runs great now. The shed now has every mouse killer know to man. Traps, poison traps, and sticky traps. Claimed my first giant mouse the first night. Snap!!! He never knew what hit him, he died with his eyes open staring at a clump of peanut butter.

Posts: 652 | Registered: February 20, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I live a couple hundred feet from the city limits and thousands of acres of open prairie. Lots of critters! Deer, antelope, bobcats, foxes, coyotes, wild turkeys, badgers, an occasional wandering bear or mountain lion.

Not very many mice. The rattlesnakes seem to do a good job of keeping them under control. We always visually check the patio, porch, or garage before walking out. Two or three times every year I have to use the rake and shovel to deal with rattlers.

At least the rattlers don't build nests in my toys.

Retired holster maker.
Retired police chief.
Formerly Sergeant, US Army Airborne Infantry, Pathfinders