SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Armorer    New slide question
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New slide question Login/Join 
posted
I have a P226 Elite in 40 S&W and would like to convert it to 9mm. Midwestgunworks has a Legion slide. Can I couple this with a Sig 9mm barrel and magazine? Thanks everyone.

Posts: 8 | Registered: August 05, 2022Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Firearms Enthusiast
Picture of Mustang-PaPa
posted Hide Post
First off WELCOME!!!

IMO a cheaper/cleaner way would be to just buy a Bar-Sto conversion Bbl. Have it fitted by the SigArmorer if needed, buy a 9mm recoil spring and a hand full of 9mm mags and get going.

While your next question will be the difference in sight number for the 9mm (8Fx8R) and 40S&W (6Fx8R), the difference at short distance is hardly noticeable.

Posts: 18013 | Location: South West of Fort Worth, Tx. | Registered: December 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert, so this is more of a question ... Won't the OP need to change the slide because the rim diameter of the 9mm is smaller than the 40?? Will the 40 S&W extractor reliably function on a 9mm case??

quote:
Originally posted by Mustang-PaPa:

IMO a cheaper/cleaner way would be to just buy a Bar-Sto conversion Bbl. Have it fitted by the SigArmorer if needed, buy a 9mm recoil spring and a hand full of 9mm mags and get going.

Posts: 1264 | Location: Idaho | Registered: October 21, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Firearms Enthusiast
Picture of Mustang-PaPa
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mike28w:
I'm no expert, so this is more of a question ... Won't the OP need to change the slide because the rim diameter of the 9mm is smaller than the 40?? Will the 40 S&W extractor reliably function on a 9mm case??

Its never been an issue for me or anyone else that I know of.