SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Armorer    HELP! - Canted AR Barrel
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

HELP! - Canted AR Barrel Login/Join 
posted
This is my first time installing a barrel to a stripped AR upper. I bought a Wilson Combat 6.8spc 16" Recon Fluted Barrel. I attached/torqued per instructions. After adding a Geissle mk16 handgaurd, I noticed that the barrel is slightly canted to one side toward the muzzle end of the hanguard. It is only slight, but it is clearly visible when looking down the barrel from the back of the receiver. I removed the handguard and the barrel and noticed a little play back and forth with the barrel seated in the receiver. When I hand tighten the barrel nut, the barrel is pulled slight to one side as it snugs up. I'm assuming that this is because the receiver is not perfectly square. I ordered a Wheeler Receiver lapping tool and plan to hand lap the receiver using the following youtube video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbIIEeZmK54

I realize that I'm not a gunsmith, but I like working with my hands and am very familiar working some of the more med-hard gunsmith tasks. Any "watch outs" or recommendations? I release anyone who posts here from liability should I choose to proceed at my own risk with any of your recommendations.

Much Appreciated!

-Miller

This message has been edited. Last edited by: EkimSig,

Posts: 379 | Location: Shenandoah Valley - VA | Registered: February 08, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of 10-7 leo
posted Hide Post
When you say canted, I think of the sight as being rotated off the centerline of the barrel either clockwise or counterclockwise, but the barrel and receiver centerlines are themselves in line. Are you using canted to mean the centerlines of the barrel and receiver are forming an angle?