SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Questions from an AR beginner.
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Questions from an AR beginner. Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Delta-3:
Exactly what hrcjon said. Colt 6920. You will NOT regret it,

I will say that the Colt 6920 is good advice.
I have built all of my AR 15's, all with specific purposes. Using the best parts. Cost not being a real factor, as I was buying a part here and there until I got everything I wanted and needed.

But, if I was a newbie and wanted a quality AR-15 and didn't want to spend a ton of money, the Colt 6920 would be a great choice. It's a benchmark for the AR-15. Basically everything you need, nothing you don't.

ARman

Posts: 3151 | Registered: May 19, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ruger357
posted Hide Post
I always recommend colt, Daniel defense and BCM.

I always recommend aimpoint.

I have never had a problem with either. I have many people that took my recommendation and they haven't had a problem either. Buy quality.

-----------------------------------------

Roll Tide!

Glock Certified Armorer
NRA Certified Firearms Instructor

Posts: 7946 | Location: Hoover, AL | Registered: November 06, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
How are the Colt Magpul Ar's in relation to a 6920 for a beginner? Is the magpul furniture better?

Posts: 21335 | Registered: June 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Thanks everyone. Really appreciate & enjoy the advice and comments.

As far as the S&W MP15 goes, I was looking at their website and SKU #10159 appears to have the low-profile front gas block.
My LGS can get me one for little over $600.
Not sure why I want that configuration with the SIG Romeo5 low mount . . . other than I just like the low, clean look of that set-up.
Also, not sure why the 45-degree offset BUIS's seem like a good idea. They just do. Again, no good reason.