SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I am about to purchase two used cars - Son got an Audi A4T
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I am about to purchase two used cars - Son got an Audi A4T Login/Join 
Picture of mttaylor1066
posted
I am planning to purchase two used cars in the next week. (!)

One an everyday driver for my 20YO son, I am budgeting $5,0000.

The other is for me, to replace my dear, departed 2003 Infiniti G35 coupe. I'm thinking I want to spend $25,000.

I see plenty of listings of cars I think are relatively reliable. In the past 26 years I've owned two cars and put above 165,000 miles on each of them. So I'm not experienced in buying from dealers or private sellers.

Any strategies, advice, that SF-ers can provide me?

I don't need any recommendations on which car brand/model to purchase, just want some guidelines on what to offer, what to expect at a used car dealership, etc.

Both of these will be all cash deals.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: mttaylor1066,

Company, villainous company hath been the spoil of me.

Posts: 1601 | Location: Stamford, CT | Registered: July 14, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Shaql
posted Hide Post
Probably the best thing to do is go to research the car you want on both Kelly Blue Book and Edmunds.com to understand the fair market value of your vehicle. That'll give you an idea of what it's worth. Then try your best to get a better deal than that. Come armed with the info...

Hedley Lamarr: Wait, wait, wait. I'm unarmed.
Bart: Alright, we'll settle this like men, with our fists.
Hedley Lamarr: Sorry, I just remembered . . . I am armed.

Posts: 6852 | Location: Atlanta | Registered: April 23, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Page late and a dollar short
posted Hide Post