SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I'm wanting to buy a nice watch
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I'm wanting to buy a nice watch Login/Join 
Seeker of Clarity
Picture of r0gue
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by dave7378:
I love Rolex or Omega. Whichever you choose, talk to Dave Truong. I have had many transactions with him and cannot recommend him more highly. An absolute gentleman.

I actually have a Coke GMT from David. Bought it from him in 2008 right off the SF classifieds. It's more than tripled in value since then. With watches (particularly if you like to change it up and buy and sell over time), it's not the purchase price, but the cost of ownership that matters. I'm lost plenty on a few over the years as well. So I'm no expert at this.

Posts: 11385 | Registered: August 02, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
My wife had bought me a couple breitlings and am very happy with them. Built like tanks. Definitely some models in your price range. I like a simple watch so mine are an avenger seawolf and super ocean.
My super ocean took the trip with me to Afghanistan and held up perfectly in some pretty extreme conditions.

Posts: 3288 | Location: Finally free in AZ! | Registered: February 14, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of smlsig
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by r0gue:

I actually have a Coke GMT from David. Bought it from him in 2008 right off the SF classifieds. It's more than tripled in value since then. With watches (particularly if you like to change it up and buy and sell over time), it's not the purchase price, but the cost of ownership that matters. I'm lost plenty on a few over the years as well. So I'm no expert at this.

Wait!
Dave sells Rolex’s as well?

------------------
Eddie

Our Founding Fathers were men who understood that the right thing is not necessarily the written thing. -kkina