SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Personal Integrity. Nothing else matters.
Page 1 2 3 

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Personal Integrity. Nothing else matters. Login/Join 
More light than heat
Picture of Milliron
posted Hide Post
I can recall an evolution professionally where I as a young attorney, I was presented with a situation requiring me to choose between my own integrity and the wishes of my employer, and the firm. It was my first job, they were a stern taskmaster, and I needed the position to work out very badly.

And for a moment, I wrestled with what to do. Curry favor with my bosses, or draw a line over which I would not cross. I chose the latter, but I was frankly ashamed at myself that I even debated the issue internally. I decided that if you needed to decide whether to do the right thing, you were not a particularly honorable person. It was a watershed ethical moment for me.

Over successive years, I often took positions professionally that were strictly speaking, not in my financial best interest. They were however, the right things to do. And I’ve never regretted it, though it’s occasionally made me poorer. I always think of Liam Nelson’s line from Rob Roy:

“Honor is something no man can give you, or can take away. Honor is a man’s gift to himself”.

"Age does not bring wisdom. Often it merely changes simple stupidity into arrogant conceit. It's only advantage, so far as I have been able to see, is that it spans change. A young person sees the world as a still picture, immutable. An old person has had his nose rubbed in changes and more changes and still more changes so many times that that he knows it is a moving picture, forever changing. He may not like it--probably doesn't; I don't--but he knows it's so, and knowing is the first step in coping with it."

Robert Heinlein

Posts: 8797 | Location: West Chester, Ohio | Registered: April 06, 2007Report This Post
Green grass and
high tides