SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Gallery    SIG P226 Ivory Grips
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

SIG P226 Ivory Grips Login/Join 
posted
I have always thought it would be neat to have a set of ivory grips for a P226 pistol. But over the years, have seen none out there. Are somewhat common on say 1911's or Colt SAA's, even with the new ones using Mammoth Ivory.

Well, I have been working making these since Dec 2022, but planning and acquiring material for over a year. Finally got them completed. A nice set of 2-piece Mammoth Ivory grips for my classic 1986 Swiss proofed SIG P226, in true German factory electroless nickel. Was a challenge, especially using only hand tools. A very laborious and tedious process to say the least, but turned out better than expected. Have only seen grips like this on the SIG P210 50th Jubilee and Swiss Confederation 700th Year (learned though that these are actually Galalith plastic on the 700th year one) pistols.

Posts: 19 | Location: Elgin, Texas | Registered: July 14, 2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Shaman
Picture of ScreamingCockatoo
posted Hide Post
They're stunning!

He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster.

Posts: 39853 | Location: Atop the cockatoo tree | Registered: July 27, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of hi-power man
posted Hide Post
excellent - great work

High capacity is not an acceptable substitute for good marksmanship.

Posts: 881 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: December 07, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
7.62mm Crusader
posted Hide Post
You did a fine job on these. First, I too have ever seen. Your P226 is Nickle? It looks blued in your photos. I was privey to handle a 1 1/2 foot length of ivory tusk owned by a friend. Such a hefty and dense material. A sliver was taken from its wide end and engraved into a grip cap for a custom stocked Mauser rifle.