SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Why Reload Common Calibers
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why Reload Common Calibers Login/Join 
posted
Hi,
I've been reloading for 40 years, rifle, pistol and shotgun...Lately I've been shooting 9s, 45s and 10mm a lot, shot up most of my old ammo and started reloading replacements. While some of my components are older, I priced out replacements..1K bullets 160, powder-30, brick primers-90 incl sipping = 280.00, I can get 1000 PMC delivered for 304.00. I have not spec'd out the others but tell me why I should continue pulling the handle on 9s..or shotguns for that matter...

Posts: 36 | Registered: January 26, 2024Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of RGRacing
posted Hide Post
Agreed but the potential of 1000 or 300 each of any of those calibers is what still keeps me in the game.

Posts: 494 | Location: Mpls, MN | Registered: January 05, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
For me, it is my “quiet place” where only I go (and this becomes more important as one gets older - at least for me)

and

It allows me to load all types of rounds that I would not go out and purchase like 300 AAC B/O sub-sonic rounds as well as powder puff 9mm rounds for shooting at local Steel Challenge matches. Just my reasons.

Posts: 3245 | Location: MS | Registered: December 16, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of erj_pilot
posted Hide Post
I only load 2 calibers:
.40S&W
.223 Remington

For me, it WILL be a cost savings because I bought all the components to load THOUSANDS of rounds of each way back when those costs were relatively cheap...circa 2013.

Also, as sigarm stated, it will be a sort of "respite" when I'm no longer working and want something to do in retirement. I'm excited about adding a Dillon RL1100 to include a Mr. Bullet Feeder and DAA Magnetic Powder Check for loading .40S&W. I'll keep my existing RCBS Pro 2000 and Rock Chucker setup to load .223.