SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Brass or Loaded Ammo For Brass?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brass or Loaded Ammo For Brass? Login/Join 
Lurking around
every corner
posted
I'm fairly new to reloading and have a question. Is there any advantage to buying new brass vs loaded ammo for non-competition reloading? This is ammo that I will load for fun shooting at the range. I would like for it to be accurate, but ultimate accuracy isn't necessary.

For example, a few months ago I found some 7.5x55 swiss brass for $.80 each. At the time I also found some loaded brass cased rounds from another vendor for $1.00 each. Both were Prvi Partizan PPU so I'm assuming the brass would be the same. I don't have a large supply of primers, powder, and bullets from a long time ago, so I know that I can't take the $.80 brass and come up with loaded ammo for $1.00 total ($.20 for primer/powder/bullet).

So, is there any advantage to getting the new brass over the loaded ammunition that I don't know of?

Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades... and I'm out of horseshoes!

Posts: 193 | Location: Central Florida | Registered: July 02, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
teacher of history
Picture of maxwayne
posted Hide Post
No real advantage. Get your brass whichever way is the cheapest. I have a bit of both. I tend to load for some expensive calibers (.41 mag,.44 mag and .45 Colt. In these cases, buying the brass is cheapest. With 9mm, it is cheapest to buy the ammo and reload the brass.

Posts: 5606 | Location: Central Illinois | Registered: March 04, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I Deal In Lead
Picture of Flash-LB
posted Hide Post
For my varmint rifles, I buy new brass.

For everything else, I use range brass or purchase once fired brass, but I use probably 95% range brass.

Posts: 10626 | Location: Gilbert Arizona | Registered: March 21, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
This Space for Rent
Picture of ugeesta
posted Hide Post