SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  CCW Methods & Issues    Looking for Advise, Chest Seal for CCW or Accident Injuries.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Looking for Advise, Chest Seal for CCW or Accident Injuries. Login/Join 
Just because you can,
doesn't mean you should
posted
Looking for some forum input on carrying some basic medical kit items.
Since I've had zero real world experience in the area of chest seals, I'd like to see what others that have some experience think, and also recommendations as far as specific brands.
I have other basic items I carry in my car and a few in a backpack/briefcase (Tourniquet, Israeli Bandage) and have been considering a chest seal for abdominal or chest punctures. These could be needed for the more likely event of a serious auto accident or firearms injury.

Do you see them often used in accidents and are they easy for an untrained person like me to apply in an emergency?

Are there certain brands to get or stay away from?

Posts: 9717 | Location: NE GA | Registered: August 22, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Knowing a thing or two
about a thing or two
Picture of hray
posted Hide Post
https://www.amazon.com/Rusch-I...n%2Caps%2C107&sr=8-5

We used these for years at my FD. Easy to use, do what they are suppose to. We didn't get them from Amazon though.

Edit to add these are more for sucking chest wounds. Puncture to the chest. Nothing to do with the Abd. Also If you are unfortunate enough to have to use one of these or any other you will need to wipe area off of heavy blood before sticking it to them. That's just the way it is.

P226 NSWG
P220 W. German
P239 SAS gen2
P6 1980 W. German
P228 Nickel
P365XL
M400 SRP

Posts: 1148 | Location: South Miami Dade | Registered: May 13, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
fugitive from reality
Picture of SgtGold
posted Hide Post