SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    Fender Precision Bass identification?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fender Precision Bass identification? Login/Join 
posted
Let me first state that I am not a musician and I do not know how to play any instrument.

That said, I'm looking to better identify a couple of Fender P-Basses beyond knowing that they are what they are in the broadest sense.

The complication of that is that I only have one picture of each from the front and do not have them in hand at present.

If I post the pics I have up here, do the P-Bass aficionados in the room think you can help me pin down the vintage of the units in question?

Thanks

Posts: 943 | Location: Midwest | Registered: April 13, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Though I am not a P-bass aficionado, I do have a copy of Gruhn's guide to vintage guitars and may be able to help you out.

Posts: 3677 | Location: PA | Registered: November 15, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Frangas non Flectes
Picture of P220 Smudge
posted Hide Post
Serial number's gonna tell us as much or more than the pictures, but yeah, post them up.

Posts: 17565 | Location: Sonoran Desert | Registered: February 10, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by P220 Smudge:
Serial number's gonna tell us as much or more than the pictures, but yeah, post them up.

That's a fact, but these two bad pics are the best I can do at the moment: https://www.flickr.com/photos/...04/shares/m0646128qg

I'm working on getting them in hand, but that may be a bit. They belonged to a longtime family friend that passed several years back. His wife already sold a couple of his guitars and an amp and these are going soon.

I was under the impression that at the end, he was down to the one P-Bass, but apparently not.