SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    How do you log your scope settings?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How do you log your scope settings? Login/Join 
Yeah, that M14 video guy...
Picture of benny6
posted
This is my 200yd zero for my M25. Do shooters have a standard way of recording this value?

Would you say something like 4/14.25? Or is there some more clear way of recording this value?

Thanks.

Tony.

Owner, TonyBen, LLC, Type-07 FFL
www.tonybenm14.com (Site under construction).
e-mail: tonyben@tonybenm14.com

Posts: 5397 | Location: Auburndale, FL | Registered: February 13, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Questions = Harassment
posted Hide Post
quote:

Would you say something like 4/14.25? Or is there some more clear way of recording this value?

Thanks.

Tony.

Thats what I would do, but I am no expert on this subject.
Now it has me thinking on what i would do.;

Posts: 370 | Location: VA | Registered: April 06, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'd loosen the turret cap and turn it to 4. Then your counting MOA up/down from a fixed value.
I have laminated dope charts on all my scoped rifles for quick reference with +- for windage dope too.
I can only shoot out to 1K yds. though.

Posts: 368 | Registered: January 07, 2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You have a quirky way of defining your "zero".

I "zero" my 308 at 100 yards, and the elevation setting on my turret at this distance is "0". This means I dial the elevation turret up for all distances other than 100 yards.

Your "zero" is likely set around 230 yards, which is an extremely odd distance. If you choose to zero at 200 yards, change you turret setting to 0. Currently it's at -.75 MOA, which is roughly what it takes to dial down common 308 loads from 230 to 200 yards. At my altitude with a 308 and FGMM 168, I dial up elevation of about 1.5 MOA to hit targets at 200 yards.