SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    What are pros/cons of different variable power scope magnification ratios?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What are pros/cons of different variable power scope magnification ratios? Login/Join 
posted
A question for the scope experts: Are there sacrifices made in scope performance, when choosing a higher magnification ratio? Does a 5-25x make compromises in any performance aspect; like eye relief, exit pupil (or eye box, if those are interchangeable), and light transmission; when compared to a 3-9x, or is everything kept in check by the typically overall-larger size of the optic? If I am missing any obvious factors, let me know; I am not an optics expert, and am trying to learn.

Posts: 2156 | Location: Northeast GA | Registered: February 15, 2021Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
I’m not a scope optics expert, but a couple of thoughts.

The most obvious issue with a first focal plane scope with a large magnification range such as even 5:1 (e.g., 5-25×) is reticle design. Because the size of the reticle changes with the magnification setting, a balance must be struck between it’s being too small (thin, actually) at low magnifications and too coarse at the upper end. That’s very noticeable even in the five X range scopes I have (2-10, 3-15, 5-25, etc.), but of course if it’s 6:1, 8:1, or, mirabile dictu, 10:1, then it becomes even worse.