SIGforum
SCAR cleaning question

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/630601935/m/9530051884

January 02, 2022, 08:51 PM
arabiancowboy
SCAR cleaning question
Gents, I took my scar16s out shooting with my son today and decided to do a deep cleaning afterwards. On the aft side of the bolt carrier, above the hole housing the recoil spring and guide rod, there is another bore out hole a few inches deep. I noticed the inside of this hole had what appears to be rust. Totally bizarre location and I’m not sure what I’m looking at. Also not sure if I’m just noticing it now or if it’s always been there. Anyway some of it wiped up using bore cleaner, but there appears to be a deep stain in that location. It’s quite odd, and I’m curious if any members have seen anything similar.

I’m not an expert on this weapon, but it looks weird to me. Thanks for any reflections you might have.
January 04, 2022, 06:09 PM
sig 226
Could you post a picture? I can go check my 16S to compare.

------------------------------------------------

9/11/01 Never Forget

"In valor there is hope" - Tacitus
January 06, 2022, 06:50 AM
Voshterkoff
Youtube channel garandthumb recently posted a cold weather ice test of several rifles. He extended it to check water/rust resistance. He states that his SCAR was the only one to rust. https://www.instagram.com/p/CYRuqz0puQQ/?hl=en
I know it’s a sample of one, but if it’s more prone to rust, a bored out cavity for weight reduction that doesn’t normally get lube protection would be a likely place for rust to form.
January 06, 2022, 11:41 AM
1KPerDay
Mine hasn't rusted in 10 years but I live in a desert

---------------------------
My hovercraft is full of eels.
January 07, 2022, 01:27 AM
arabiancowboy
Thanks for the replies. Yes I’ll post a picture as soon as I can; I know that would be better than a verbal description.
January 07, 2022, 05:16 PM
hrcjon